LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with mail browser

Trying to retrieve e-mail using the mail browser vi provided on this web site. Although the mail from the pop server is downloaded, and message summary indicator shows that the messages have been downloaded(and the number of messages is also shown correctly), the message array is empty. Any help is greatly appreciated.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,347 Views)
Belur,

I wrote that example when I was an Applications Engineer for NI to teach myself about POP3, and I've felt guilty ever since that it is such an incomplete implementation. The header parsing, error handling, and lots of other stuff is not anything close to what you'd call production code.

That said, I'm baffled at your problem description. As far as I know, the actual capture of the mail body text is pretty bulletproof. Could you give a screenshot, or describe the problem again being sure to use actual VI names and terminal names from the example? Also describe any results you get when you probe for data that you expect to see in various places on the diagram.

I'm sure I can help you get the basic functionality going if you can tolerate the limi
tations of the example. If you're really looking for a full and robust solution, you might consider trying another implementation or researching to see if there are any good not-100%-LabVIEW solutions (e.g. ActiveX, external libraries, etc.).

Best Regards,
John Lum
National Instruments
Message 2 of 12
(3,347 Views)
John,

Thanks for your prompt response. Here are some details and a screen shot of one of the sub-VI's namely Get All Messages.VI. The main VI MailBrowser.vi just hangs and when I try to highlight execution I noticed that it is hanging in the Get All Messages.vi and I have captured the screenshot and attached here.