ni.com checkout is currently experiencing issues.

Support teams are actively working on the resolution.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Queuing strategy to manage 3 cases for commands to VISA.

Hello,

I am hoping this problem is a simple one and my inability to properly describe it is why I haven't had any luck in searching for a previous answer.

Myself: 

I'm a graduate student (after 15 years in industry), however, I have no prior LabVIEW experience. In an effort to gain experience as fast and efficiently as possible, I have taken CORE 1 and CORE 2 online courses.  (I'm not through all the exercises yet though)

My Project:

I inherited a biaxial testing device that needs significant revisions to the VI.  I have avoided asking many foolish questions that were a result of the 3 embedded sequence structures,  I've deleted those and replaced them with a state machine.  Super happy to be this far.

The Device:

I'm controlling a biaxial testing device which measures force and stretch along two axes.  The part of the VI I am rewriting is the motion control.  (Thus I have only included a couple screenshots of the relevant code.  I can post the whole VI, but it doesn't seem necessary.)  The control strategy I am implementing is simple: the motion of each axis is started and then the force from the load cells is compared to the desired setpoint.  When the setpoint is reached, each axis is shut off individually.  This is 2 of the string commands I need to send to VISA.  The third command is the safety stop, which stops both axes in case the force is never reached.

My programming Challenge: