LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Record Data While Displaying Waveform

I am a student in a second semester LabView class.  I am attempting to create a program in which I display the temperature from a thermistor on a waveform chart continuously while having the ability to sample data to a .csv file in user specified sample times and recording time.  The problem I have ran into for the last two semesters is the ability to show the waveform feed while recording intermittently.  The chart will display, but after the recording is turned on the chart will pause until the specified recording time has been completed.  i.e. the loop for which the recording happens inside the program loop.  The program loop stops while the recording loop is executing.  I have put the recording program inside of event structures, case structures, etc...  each time the case structures is turned on the waveform will pause until the recording is over.  

Is it possible to display a running chart while saving data to a file without pausing the live feed?  

Below is the structure I am using to display a graph while recording data.  Of course this program will run continuously and overwrite or save a new file every X number of seconds as defined by the user.  I have tried to put this into a case structure, parallel while loops, etc...  

caklinedinst_0-1676237983872.png

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(642 Views)

Avoid using the DAQ Assistant Express VI. You can get good shipping examples from Help >> NI Example Finder >> Hardware Input and Output >> DAQmx. See Learn 10 Functions in NI-DAQmx and Handle 80 Percent of Your Data Acquisition Applications.

NI-DAQmx driver has a built-in function to log data to TDMS files. TDMS file is a binary file and saves more disk space. It can be opened using TDM Excel Add-In for Microsoft Excel Download.