LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

See cRIO 9064 in Measurement and Automation but not in Project Explorer

I’m new to the NI suite

I’m trying to connect two daisy chained Ethernet AKD motors to NI DAQmx

NI has a video explaining how to, but in the video the cRIO is showing in Project Explorer window when he starts.

I have tried to search for it under remote systems, but nothing shows?

Could anyone point me in the right direction?

I have added a screenshot 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(1,257 Views)

Hi Marius,

you need to add the cRIO as (new) target to your project - as is explained in the RIO basics tutorial...

@Mariusjuv wrote:

I’m trying to connect two daisy chained Ethernet AKD motors to NI DAQmx

Your cRIO doesn't provide any DAQmx capabilities...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(1,247 Views)

Too add to this, are you referring to Kollmorgen AKD drives? If you are connecting to them with Ethernet, they use TCP/IP for communication, not DAQmx.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(1,239 Views)

Thx to both of you.

Yes, there are 2 Kollmorgen AKD motors, but their (Kollmorgen) interface uses Silverlight from Microsoft on the Admin webpage. Microsoft stopped supporting that last year, so my browser doesn’t get that page up., but that’s some workaround I hope.

Right so the cRIO is “outside” of the NI DAQ? - I need perhaps download the cRIO drivers from the NI launch manager also then?

Thats why there are two USB’s out of this prototype, does that make sense?

sorry for the newbie questions here, just trying to get my head around this.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(1,221 Views)

The AKD's I have used have a X11 Ethernet port that supports Modbus RTU. I don't know what you communicated before, but there is a section at the end of the User Guide with some of the registers you can read/write.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(1,216 Views)

Hi Marius,

@Mariusjuv wrote: