LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seeking advice on how to deal with inherited code

So I'm relatively new to LabVIEW, (~6 months in) and I've been tasked with taking over maintenance of our test rig control programs (engine testing cells - control and measurement run through labVIEW) 

I've done Core 1 & 2 training courses, and the way you are taught to build code on the course... our stuff looks nothing like it. It's all over the place and enormous expanses of code. Each engine has its own program written for each different test cell, and working out what each bit of code is doing is tedious as labeling wasn't really their thing.  

My full time job isn't to maintain code, I've actually got to run these test cells and deal with the code in between tests. 

So, my question is, what would you suggest is the best way to deal with this monstrosity code? 

Full rewrite (which I'm not exactly confident doing) or is there an easy way to identify certain parts of their code so I can label them and modify one to be a bit more universal

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 30
(1,535 Views)

@LVIEWPQ wrote:

So I'm relatively new to LabVIEW, (~6 months in) and I've been tasked with taking over maintenance of our test rig control programs (engine testing cells - control and measurement run through labVIEW) 

I've done Core 1 & 2 training courses, and the way you are taught to build code on the course... our stuff looks nothing like it. It's all over the place and enormous expanses of code. Each engine has its own program written for each different test cell, and working out what each bit of code is doing is tedious as labeling wasn't really their thing.  

My full time job isn't to maintain code, I've actually got to run these test cells and deal with the code in between tests. 

So, my question is, what would you suggest is the best way to deal with this monstrosity code?