cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Servo Control with LabView and NI USB-6009 DAQ

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to LabView and trying to create an application that will control two servos simultaneously. I have found plenty of solutions online using Arudino as a mediator but I want to solely use NI USB-6009 DAQ as the control. I would really appreciate it if someone could help me out with a solution. I have linked the servo information below.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(1,099 Views)

USB-6009 may not have enough counters to generate the PWM signals to control the servos.

On the other hand, use the AO channels to drive the signal to the servos and it would work. All that you have to do is generate the PWM signal 20ms pulse cycle, 0.5-2.0ms high time using the AO channels.

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
Message 2 of 9
(1,067 Views)

Hi,

@santo_13 wrote:

USB-6009 may not have enough counters to generate the PWM signals to control the servos.

On the other hand, use the AO channels to drive the signal to the servos and it would work. All that you have to do is generate the PWM signal 20ms pulse cycle, 0.5-2.0ms high time using the AO channels.

The USB6009 does NOT support hardware-timed AO channels, all it brings are software-timed AO (at max 150Hz). So the approach to simulate PWM signals using AO pins with 20ms cycle/0.5ms ON is doomed to fail…

One of the more recent USB boxes (USB6002?) will fit slightly better for that task!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 3 of 9
(1,050 Views)

@GerdW wrote:

Hi,

@santo_13 wrote: