LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB 6289

Hi folks!

This is my first post so I apologize if I am not doing something by the book.

I am new to LabVIEW (I am a Chemical Engineer) and I am trying to use (or code if you will) a Digital Signal Generator.

I have studied a bit on the subject and I am wondering if it is posssible to generate digital signals with LabVIEW using a binary counter....or something else, suggestions are

greatly aprecciated.

For this project I am using a USB-6289 DAQ Board

The purpose is generate a digital signal using LabVIEW and with the internal DAC of the USB-6289 output analog signals.

I have not code (sorry...like I said I am new to LabVIEW)...and I am still in the process of choosing a direction for the code...:smileywink:

So any suggestion or tip, for the code or in the digital signals subject, are appreciated.

Cheers :smileyhappy:

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,374 Views)

I don't understand why you would want to generate digital signals with the analog output. Why don't you use the digital outputs? Explain exactly what you mean by binary counter.  

Open the example finder (Help>Find Examples) and go to Hardware Input and Output>DAQmx>Digital Generation.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,371 Views)

Yes Dennis you're correct, I meant output and not input! The digital signals are going to be sent to a signal generator module (and that one does the DAC function, if I am not mistaken)...

Like I said I am kinda new at LabVIEW and I have already checked the examples in the examples section.

However I want to know if it is possible to generate digitals signals using just LabVIEW codin, and if it is not too much trouble, some pointers are appreciated....since I am 

a chemical engineer, and electronics is not really my field of experties...