cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unpack data channels from cluster

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I tried searching for this, it seems common enough, but I'm not sure I used the right set of words:

I'm receiving data from a device in packets. Each packet contains multiple frames, each frame contains two sub-frames, and each sub-frame contains several data channels. In my vi, the packet is a cluster, the frames are clusters, and the sub-frames are clusters, all typedef'ed.

What I want to do, is take the initial big cluster, and split the data into a cluster of arrays, one per data channel, without generating spaghetti.

The "decimate array" function would work beautifully to do the job, but alas, it only operates on arrays, not clusters, and it seems my clusters cannot be converted to arrays.

Is there something I'm missing? I've attached a high-level picture...note I'm not an artist. 🙂 The values "n" and "m" are fixed, so there is no variability

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,701 Views)

Can you share your type definitions of the clusters? Then we could suggest ways to manipulate your actual data, or changes to your cluster structure that would make it easier to rearrange. It would also let us understand why you can't convert your cluster to an array. Are all the types of data the same?

Message 2 of 10
(3,685 Views)

Hi nathand,

I'm not sure I can send the exact clusters, but here is a "close enough" approximation.

It seems that the cluster structure *can* be converted to arrays, but after that, I'm stumped. I'm relatively new to Labview, and I may have spent too much time staring at a C++ IDE, so I might not fully understand the memory management aspects of LabView, to properly do this split.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(3,669 Views)

Sorry, but I'm stuck on an older version of LabVIEW at the moment... could you save it back to LabVIEW 2012 or earlier, and I'll take a look?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(3,656 Views)