LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using the for loop iteration number as variable outside loop

I've very little experience with labview, and trying to design a program which generate a signal inside a for loop and each iteration the frequency of the signal is increased, basically I need to be able to use the for loop iteration number (i.e whether it's iteration 1, 2, 3 etc.) to multiply with a step size to add to the initial start frequency. I've tried shift registers etc. but can't seem to get it too work, any help would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(3,628 Views)

Do you see the little "index" terminal, blue square with "i" inside it on the lower left?  This is the For loop index, starts at 0 and increments by 1 for every loop.  Just wire it ...  This generates an array of even numbers, 0 .. 18.

Evens.png

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(3,616 Views)

I think that code (or very similar) is already placed in at least a dozen of posts, so only a screenshot:

FrequencyStepping.PNG

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
Message 3 of 20
(3,604 Views)
Consider the Ramp Pattern function to create an array of frequencies that you need and just write the array into a for loop.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 20
(3,594 Views)

Thanks for both replies, Norbert your solution was perfect, I had the logic located outside the loop and was getting different kinds of errors etc. but it's working perfect now thanks again.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 20
(3,586 Views)

There is also the simple Ramp Pattern VI that you could use to generate your points of interest.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines