LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XY Graph - How do I plot Multiple colors over one another depending on Case Structure

Hello, I have X and Y coordinates and I want the plot line color to change depending on the direction of travel (Forward, Backwards)

I found this below VI but I am not sure how to adapt it to work for my needs as honestly I dont really understand what is fully going on. I am pretty new to LabVIEW.

I understand the top sine wave is where I would need to replace it with my X,Y coordinates as an array (currently using Express XY Graph). I am not sure what the second Sine Wave (Ramp by Samples) is or what I would wire to this in my case.

The selector would be wired up approximately the same but using my signal for forwards/backwards (signal > 0Volts = Forwards).

I guess I am mostly confused about the second Sine Wave. Would I need the for loop? This is all happening in a while loop, I believe a Case selector would work better for my needs?

Thanks!

Gerthex_1-1678220854146.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(1,224 Views)
  • If you have a linear x ramp, all you need is a plain waveform graph. No need for XY.
  • If you "found" a VI somewhere here, please include a link so we get some context.
  • Do you want to see both forward and backward traces at the same time?
  • Are they updated one point at a time? (i.e. having the express VI checkbox checked to retain data similar to a chart)
  • can you show us your VI draft?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(1,209 Views)

You can't change a plot on the same line to be different colors, but you can make two plots that are different colors, and make parts of them not show up.

The trick is that if one or both of the XY coordinates is NaN, LabVIEW won't draw it or the line connecting it.  So if you put NaNs in your data, you can make it look like a line changes colors.

Here's example code:

Kyle97330_0-1678224358489.png

Message 3 of 12
(1,208 Views)

Here's one possibility.