LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cRio and PID for servo control

Hi, I'm using a cRio to control a servo valve with a PID controller. I have a simple functional code (in attach) that does what I need, but I cannot perform more than 100 cycles per second. I'm doing something wrong in my program, it's impossible that it won't be possible to go much faster. My problem is that I am self-taught in LabView (not to mention that my background is in Civil Engineering…). I would like to ask if you could give me a clue as to what I'm doing wrong, I'm somewhat stuck... Maybe I have to compile the code to run within cRio (I'm not doing it, I still don't know how to do it). Any advice would be welcome!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(177 Views)

Hi number,

@numifar wrote:

I have a simple functional code (in attach) that does what I need, but I cannot perform more than 100 cycles per second. I'm doing something wrong in my program, it's impossible that it won't be possible to go much faster.

You use a lot of IONodes (for all hardware IO) in your cRIO VIs: they are not known to be "very fast". They also use the ScanEngine, where you need to be configure the cycle time.

So the questions are:

• Which cRIO do you use?
  • Which IO modules do you use?
  • How did you configure the ScanEngine?
  • Can you use the FPGA (aka do you have the FPGA module available/licensed)?

Even though your project file (from LV2012) is shown as "corrupted" by my LabVIEW (LV2019) I guess the ScanEngine is set to a samplerate of 100Hz (Period = 10000 µs):

<Property Name="target.IOScan.Period" Type="UInt">10000</Property>

@numifar wrote:

Maybe I have to compile the code to run within cRio (I'm not doing it, I still don't know how to do it).

When you run a VI then you execute compiled code.

When you start a VI, that is called on your cRIO target, then you run code compiled for the cRIO.