LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

data plc labview

Solved!
Go to solution

First off thank you for anyone that reads this, I am very new at LabVIEW, and I think this maybe a trival question but I am not sure. 

I am building a test bench to measure the torque vs angle of clutch disc to find the hystersis. I am confedient that my program is fine to record the data. I am usin a servo motor to apply the torque and when the torque gets to high I want the plc to shut off the servo motor. I want LabVIEW for the data acqusition but the plc for the control. I have no experience with modbus. I was wondering if i could share the output from the torque transducer with both the plc and LabVIEW or would this weaken my signal and affect my data? The torque transducer is a mv/v output, the tourque transducer is TRS-20K from transducer techniques. I will be using a PLC from automation direct, and a NI-9237. 

http://www.transducertechniques.com/trs-torque-sensor.aspx

Thansk for your time

Message 1 of 12
(5,970 Views)

Hello Carl,

There are a couple of different protocols we can use to communicate between LabVIEW and PLCs. These protocols are usually included in specific LabVIEW software packages.  Are you using LabVIEW 2014 Real-time or the DSC module? These include support for Modbus along with other OPC Server communication protocols. 

If you do not currently own these packages, I would recommend using DataSocket. 

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3224/en/

The Monitor OPC Items with DataSocket.vi in the Example Finder might be a good place to start.

Regards,

Thomas C.
FlexRIO Product Support Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(5,884 Views)