LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

install software on ni-9024

Hello all,

I am new to working with LabVIEW, and I am currently attempting to install software onto a Compact RIO NI-9024 under LabVIEW 8.6.0 on Windows 7 x64.  I have installed LV, the Real-Time module, and the cRIO device drivers DVD (to the best of my knowlege, at least); however, when I attempt to install software to the cRIO in MAX, I get an error that LabVIEW RT is not installed.  I've gone back and made sure that the Real-Time module is installed and also installed the cRIO device drivers from the LV 8.6.0 DVD set (which, I don't have immediate access to, since they are the University's copy).  I am able to access the controller, and I have been able to successfully format the controller's disk in an attempt to get matching versions of software installed.

Am I missing something obvious, or is this a glitch in Windows 7 that I will end up waiting on the IT department to get LV2009 so that I can continue?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Here is what MAX is showing for my currently installed software on the laptop I'm trying this from:

Untitled.jpg
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,884 Views)

Well first thing to note is LabVIEW 8.6 is not tested or supported on Windows 7.  It might work, but no guarantees. 

I am confused though.  You say you get the error when you try installing software on the controller, but then later you say you have successfully gotten software installed on the controller.  So when are you getting the error?

Also, are you sure that you installed the software in the right order.  You must install LabVIEW First, then any modules/toolkits, and then all drivers in the END.  If you installed drivers before the RT module, NI-RIO will think that RT is not installed, even though MAX will show it. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,865 Views)