LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

optimization of code replacing constant with timer

hello, i am a beginner and i have the offer to optimize a little code snip. not sure if thats possible with distance but  i'll give it a try.on thepicture you can see that there is a constant 10 and in this area i think all the magic is done (not sure). 

my problem is that this vi prgram produces some hickups and i think it is related to the mentioned area.

maybe someone could "see" the problem.

my idea was to replace seomhow the hole part related to this constant with a some sort of timer so that everything which uses this code snip are useing this exacty timing. sorry for my terrible english and also for my silly question. maybe it is not possible to answer this question without any further information. i am a bit desperate and frustrated atm sorry

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 38
(464 Views)

Hi Herrmann,

@Herrmann-s wrote:

i am a beginner 

As can be seen in the image you have attached!

@Herrmann-s wrote:

on thepicture you can see that there is a constant 10 and in this area i think all the magic is done (not sure). 

my problem is that this vi prgram produces some hickups and i think it is related to the mentioned area.

maybe someone could "see" the problem.

There are a lot of problems visible in your image:

• no style guide applied, like left-to-right wiring
  • usage of local variables, so race conditions are possible
  • lots of terminals with no label visible: you may hide the label on the frontpanel but never delete/hide it in the blockdiagram!
  • lots of coercion dots
  • comparision of floats for equality
  • Rube-Goldberg constructs like NOT functions that can be replaced by inversion dots at the CompoundArithmetic function

And no, this image does not help to solve your problem with your code!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 38
(454 Views)