LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

run a case structure or sequence structrue in a loop

Hi,

I am a PhD student and would like to simulate breathing for a medical simulation. My background is not EE but human factors and biomedical science . While I taught myself labview and have been using it in the lab to mainly acquire data and apply filters and graph signals in the past I never used it to drive and control motors. Due to my background I am limited in the concepts behind things like state machines etc and would like . I have been advice which is easy to understand. Looking and many posts I manged to put something together by mixing and matching sample vi and suggestions of posts. I am using 2019 version of Labview evaluation version.

This is my set-up:

I am using two motors, one for filling a ballon (simulated lung), the other one for sucking the air out, it is based on this simple set-up I found

https://www.instructables.com/Nonliving-But-Breathing-Model-of-Lung-Alveoli/

For my experiment I need to control and synchonise other data and another pump, which simulates pulsatile blood flow, so I want to replace this simple set- up with one, which can be controlled in labview.

I am using a mydaq aquisition card, 2 adafruit motors 4700 , (DC Motor - 4.5V, 1.8 LPM) and a L298n motor driver. I connected the PWN pins of the motor driver to AO0 and AO1 and DO channel 0and 1 to In 1&2 and 3&4 to the L298n. I used and adapted what I found here

https://forums.ni.com/t5/Motion-Control-and-Motor-Drives/Wiring-myDAQ-with-L298N-motor-drive-to-cont...

But Metazoa just wanted control one motor. I need to control 2, where one is off and the other one is running and then switch. So instead of using the Elvis user interface, I found a NI Elvismx digital writer vi. It works, but but worried there is no start and stop. Maybe this is connected to the problem I have?