LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

start button for DAQ Assistant doing pulse generation

Hi,
I am new to Labview, and I got the USB 6210.
I used the DAQ assistant and selected ctr0 to create a pulse.
This works fine, but the pulse is generated when you run the program.
I want it so that when you press a button, the pulse generation starts. Then when you press the button again, it offs.
How would you do this, I dont see any 'data' input anywhere on the DAQ Assistant. Please help.

Also, I was wondering how to change the digital output line where the pulse will output. Currently it comes out the first D/O line. USB6210 has 4 digital outs, how do I change the output line.
In DAQ assistant, all i see are two choices for pulse, crt0 and crt1 (USB 6210 has 2 counters).

Again I am just learning, thanks for any replies:D
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,996 Views)

Hi JPNaidu,

The DAQ Assistant is a great starting point for data acquisition/generation in LabVIEW, however, it does not offer the full functionality of the DAQmx API. For more complicated tasks, such as triggering or terminal selection, you will have to program with the DAQmx API. There are several excellent resources for beginning with the API. I recommend checking out the Developer Zone Tutorial: Learn 10 Functions in NI-DAQmx and Handle 80 Percent of Your Data Acquisiti... and also the DAQ Support page.

Another great resource ships with LabVIEW: the Example Finder (Help » Find Examples…). Browse by Task to Hardware Input and Output » DAQmx. There are several examples that will prove to be useful.

As for toggling your output, check out the example called Acq&Graph Voltage-Int Clk-SW Trig Restarts.vi under the Analog Measurements » Voltage directory. This example shows how you can toggle a task though software. Finally, to change the output terminal of your pulse generation task, you will need to use a DAQmx Channel Node and select Counter Output » Pulse » Output Terminal.