LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

transmit image using zigbee

Hello i am working on a project and we want to transmit an image using ZigBee. The ZigBee modules that we will use are provided by "adaptive modules" (the link provided show the modules that we will use http://adaptivemodules.co.uk/index.cfm/fa/shopdetails/Product_ID/745/Category_ID/12/Sub_Category_ID/... ).

Can you please tell me how i can start working and if you can provide me with a code in order to transfer something initial?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(5,955 Views)

Hi,

My name is Kevin I am an Application Engineer for NIUK. I understand you are after some information to get started with your project. I am assuming you want to use LabVIEW to interact with this device.

My first question for you is have you read the user manual that came with the product?

The User manual begins by explaining how to configure your device and prepare it to communicate with your computer.

My next question is can you use a terminal program to send commands? If so doing this in LabVIEW is relatively straight forward.

Here is an example how to Read and Write through serial
http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/2669

In Summary
1. Read the user guide, to configure your hardware
2. Send commands through a terminal program to ensure hardware works
3. Open Measurement and Automation Explorer (MAX)
4. On the left hand side Expand Device and Interfaces >> Serial and Parallel
5. Right Click on the COM port your device is connected to and left click "Open VISA Test Panels" Here you can see if MAX can communicate with the device in the same way your terminal software did.
5. Follow the LabVIEW example VI

This will allow you to send basic serial data. To send an image you will have to convert your image down to an array. I would advise doing more research in this area once you have established basic communication.