Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

API documentation for CWIMAQControls

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm a software developer with many years experience in medicine and other science, but now am working on a project using National Instruments IMAQ softwre in .NET and have no prior experience with image processing.  The only API documentation I can find is a help file intalled with the product.  While this documentaiton does a good job explaining function inputs and outputs it is light on explaining in an real detail what the functions actually do.  Under .NET (not my favorite but that is what I inherited), i can get a good summary of objects and their properties / methods which is helpful.  I see that there  is a lot of good material in this forum but what I need right now is good basic documentation.  I also note a plethora of PDF files in the installation directory but have not found anything there or on ni.com which gives me the level fo detail I need.  When I think of API documentation, I expect something as thorough as what Sun Microsystems delivers with any Java JDK -- it seems to me that the IMAQ API doc assumes a certain level of fluency and makes no provision for somebody like me coming with literally no background besides a lot of math (fortunately vector algebra!) and science courses in college.

Am I missing something?  I see that there are a lot of example programs and I can get what  want from those I suppose but I hate to charge my client for all the time it will take if there is a more ready source fo information. 

Now, I realize that the field of image processing is vast and it would be difficult to develop software of this nature without a learning curve.  So I

I have been studying image processing via both web queries and having purchased teh book "Digital Image Processing (Gonzalez, Woods).