Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am trying to find distance between a smart camera and an object?

Solved!
Go to solution

I am using ni smart camera 1722 and i am trying to make a VI which gives me the distance between the object and the camera from the image aquised with the grab module

Can anybody help me please?

I am new with labview and i don't have much time to do this project so please help

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,195 Views)

Hello HFASSI,

Thank you for posting on National Instruments Forum.

You have several way to measure the distance with camera. You can use the NI Vision Assistant to measure with video processing, or you can take photograph and use it to know the distance.

For the first way to realize your measurement, i advise you to follow this link.

Regards,

Romain P.
National Instruments France

Message 2 of 11
(4,173 Views)

Hi Sir

Thank you sir for your reply, well since I am new with labview I tried to use the edge detection example using IMAQ Clamp Horizontal Max VI and associate it to a grab module, but I am still having errors would you please check my trial and see if there are something missing or extra...

Thank you again

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,157 Views)

Can you describe errors? I had a look on your trial and i don't see any error.

Romain P.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(4,144 Views)

Well now I am having some troubles with the camera it does not connect properly with my laptop. when I try to configure it in MAX it doesn't connect and I get this error: "Unable to initialize connection to remote system" 

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 11
(4,141 Views)

The camera is connected on the computer or on a local area network? The error appears only when you're configuring it?

Romain P.

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 11
(4,129 Views)