Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tricky QR codes

Hi all,

I'm having trouble reading these QR codes. Any idea on why? I can't tell if the format is off or anything; I can read them with my phones barcode scanner, so that's why it's bugging me.

Thanks in advance!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,209 Views)

Hi

I had a quick look and not being a QR code expert, I tried the suggest values button on the QR Code read. It automagically set the values fro me and read straight away. Without any extra images to try it on I couldn't test it further. Try the suggest values and see how it works out.

Mike

Message 2 of 11
(5,165 Views)

Hey Mike,

Thanks for your help. I tried suggest values, but it still couldn't read the code. Would you be able to try the same method on the 2 QR codes I attached? Somehow they didn't attach with my original post.

Also, which version of Labview are you using? I'm on 2011 service pack 1; I'm wondering if I should try upgrading.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(5,140 Views)

002 worked right off the bat, but even with suggested values I was unable to decode 001 and 003.

-AK2DM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"It’s the questions that drive us.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Message 4 of 11
(5,134 Views)

I have a feeling it is to do with cell size. The codes are quite small. Could you take images roughly 640 x 480 pixels and have the code fit the image like these do. As the lighting is not optimal on these, I have ben playing with thresholding and I get some grainy images on the edges of the cells. When this is rotated in 1 and 3 then it gets worse and we are around the 3 to 4 pixels per cell edge. 

This is all based on my knowledge of DataMatrix codes but I believe it should hold true for QR codes too.

Mike

Message 5 of 11
(5,115 Views)

Hi, seems these codes are really hard to decode.

I managed to decode only one of your codes.