Measurement Studio for .NET Languages

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calling .net dll in Labview

Hi,

I am new to C#. I have a C# .net dll with a Form and a ShowForm() function to display the Form. I can call the ShowForm() function from Labview and display the Form without problem.

Now I add a NI Vision control (CWIMAQ, a .net component) to the Form, rebuild it. Then It doesn't work any more in Labview. The error msg was: "he ActiveX-Control adbf7240-2b8d-11d1-b5c5-00a024d63828 cannot instantiate, the current Thread is not Singlethread-Apartment"

ShowForm()

{

Form1 myForm = new Form1();

myForm.show();

Any one can help with this error?

thanks and best regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(11,253 Views)

Hello,

The reason that you recieve this error is that your CWImaq control is actually an ActiveX control, which requires that the thread that loads it is coinitialized as a single-threaded apartment (STA) thread. However, by default, the Labview VI's thread are coinitialized as a Multi-threaded apartment thread.  There are two options you can pursue to relieve this error you are seeing.  One is to change the preferred execution model of your VI to the User Interface.  This can be done from within the VI properties, as shown below:

Alternatively, you could modify your C# code to create and show the form in a STA in a new thread.  A very simple implementation of this can be seen below:

public class Class1
    {
        public void ShowForm()
        {
            Thread mySTAThread = new Thread(new ThreadStart(ShowFormUI));
            try
            {
                mySTAThread.SetApartmentState(ApartmentState.STA);
            }
            catch (ThreadStateException ex)
            {
                MessageBox.Show("STA Failed", ex.Message);
            }
            mySTAThread.Start();

}

private static void ShowFormUI()
        {
            TestForm myForm = new TestForm();
            myForm.ShowDialog();
        }