Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read in prallel from different AI lines ?

I am new to NI DAQ programming. I am struggling to get the concepts right. This question may be very simple to answer. I am trying to read from different AI lines at the same time using C#. I use multiple threads to create NI capture Tasks from different AI.

I noticed that NIDAQ reading would need to c

1) Create a Task

2) Create a voltage channel.

3) Configure sample clock.

4) Start the task.

5) Define a reader and read multiple samples.

7) Stop the task.

This task based model seems very asynchronous. When I try to create multiple tasks at the same time to read from different AI lines after a while it fails with an error - -50103 - The specified resource is reserved.

So far I read across and I found that I should be able to read simultaneously from different AI lines. Is my understanding in correct ? In such case, is it even possible to read from different AI channels at the same time ?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,108 Views)

Hi,

You can read multiple channels with one task.

//Create a task that will be disposed after it has been used

daqMultiTask = new Task();

daqMultiTask.AIChannels.CreateVoltageChannel("Dev1/ai0:4", "",
                    (AITerminalConfiguration)(-1), Convert.ToDouble(Global.Configuration.DAQ_RangeMin) ,
                    Convert.ToDouble(Global.Configuration.DAQ_RangeMax), AIVoltageUnits.Volts);

daqMultiTask.Timing.ConfigureSampleClock("", sampleRate , SampleClockActiveEdge.Rising, SampleQuantityMode.FiniteSamples,totalSamples);

//Verify the Task
daqMultiTask.Control(TaskAction.Verify);

daqMultiReader = new AnalogMultiChannelReader(daqMultiTask.Stream);

//Read the data from the channels

double[,] data = daqMultiReader.ReadMultiSample(totalSamples);

daqMultiTask.Dispose();

Curt

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,090 Views)

Hello Curt_C,