Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

usb 6212 solenoid

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm trying to control a TTL solenoid valve using a USB 6212 and LabView.  I'm new to LabView and am not sure if my code is correct.  I'm also not sure what channel I am supposed to use.  I appreciate any help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,172 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author biomedP

Hi biomedP,

I've had a look at your code and its a good start, but if you are just trying to turn the TTL on and off you dont need a U16 to control it. If you change your DAQmx write to boolean(1 line) you can just write a true or false (on/off) value to your solenoid.

Help solenoid.JPG

I'm not sure how far you are into this project but to develop it further you might also want to add some kind of loop or some control values. I have attached a file named "Solenoid%20Control-1_mod[1] revised.vi" which should point you in the right direction.

You might also want to look in the help files for further guidance:

Step 1: Go into LabVIEW and go to help.

Step 2: Click "Find Examples"

Step 3: On the browse tab, on the tree table click "Hardware Input and Output" > "DAQmx" > "Digital Generation" > "Write Dig Chan.vi"

Check out that example, it might solve some other problems.

About the channel, just check where the solenoid is plugged into your 6212 and change the input on the VI to match.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

Thanks, Owen.S

Message Edited by Owen.S on 09-22-2009 08:27 AM
Owen.S
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,151 Views)

Hi biomedP,

Did you get your application working okay?

Thanks,

Owen.S
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(4,117 Views)
Yes I did Thanks!
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(4,111 Views)

Sorry to reply to this message.

I would like to have a help to design a similar solenoid valve control VI with frequency (hz) and counter (how many on/off) input setting.