NI Linux Real-Time Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building a GUI using C and GTK

I've been able to follow the tutorial for getting C code to cross compile to the new Linux targets that support GUIs.  Now I'd like to compile code that has a GUI in it.  By searching around on the Linux target, it looks like it has a package called GTK, which I'm guessing I can use to display graphics.  I'm new to cross compiling and Linux, so I'm probably setting this up wrong - but I installed the GTK+ dev tools to my computer, included the header for the toolkit into my C code, and now I get errors when I try to compile.  The error message looks like this:

Info: Internal Builder is used for build

arm-nilrt-linux-gnueabi-gcc "-IC:\\gtk\\include\\gtk-3.0" "-IC:\\gtk\\include\\gtk-3.0" -O0 -g3 -Wall -c -fmessage-length=0 -o "src\\testfile.o" "..\\src\\testfile.c"

In file included from C:/gtk/include/gtk-3.0/gdk/gdk.h:30:0,

from C:/gtk/include/gtk-3.0/gtk/gtk.h:30,

from ..\src\myRIOHeader9068.c:14:

C:/gtk/include/gtk-3.0/gdk/gdkconfig.h:13:18: fatal error: glib.h: No such file or directory

compilation terminated.

Any ideas on how I can cross compile C code that will let me build my own GUIs?  I don't really care that it is GTK, I only choose that cause it looked like it was already installed, and so I figured it would work.

It looks like the target has GTK2.0, where I have GTK3.0 on my computer. I thought maybe that'd be it, but I would have expected a runtime error, not a build error for that. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(6,589 Views)

This could be little tricky to do with a cross compile on Windows because the GTK+ toolchain has dependencies, i.e. on GLib, which you'd get via your package manager dependencies on Linux but will have to track down and install by hand on Windows. I don't know how deep those dependencies go but I worry it could be a major headache to get that all set up.