NI Linux Real-Time Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Install rpm or jar?

Good afternoon,

I have a 9068 and I am trying to install an oracle instant client. In this case instant has been about 14 hours.

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/topics/linuxsoft-082809.html

Now, I can download a .rpm file or a .zip file which contains two jars and a handful of .so files. For reference, I'm trying to install:

Version 10.2.0.3

Instant Client Package - Basic: All files required to run OCI, OCCI, and JDBC-OCI applications

I am very new to linux, but it seems that the problem I am encountering is unique to NI Linux Real-Time. Whenever I try to use the rpm command I've found on several websites in regards to unpacking .rpm files, I get a basic invalid command message. So I thought I'd be clever and use java to open one of the jar files, hoping that might get me some headway.

so I went about trying to install java on my 9068. Result? I get the tarball for java for linux (I tried j586 and x64) and when I run tar on it, it unpacks everything, but I always get a cannot execute binary file error when I try ./java. Most websites indicate that this is because I needed x64 and installed j586 or vice versa, so I've tried both. No luck.

I could really use some guidance here, as it stands I've spent about two days trying to make a single install command work. It seems like this should be very easy, so I am hoping I am overlooking something. Any advice or direction is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,597 Views)

Hi there JDuval,

The cRIO 9068 is ARMv7a, architecture-wise. x86 or x86_64 will not work on these targets (unless you do something loopy like install a virtual machine like QEMU).

You can try to track down an Oracle Java solution for ARM, but as I recall, last time I checked I came up empty-handed when it came to an official, from (at the time I think it may have still been) Sun solution.