NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ctl from Labview as a station global

Hi!

I have idea to put a cluster which I created in LV (stored in *.ctl) to TestStand as a Station Global. Programmatically of course. 

It should work like that:

1. Read from file path to my control

2. ***here's some magic*** 

3. My control is a Station Global

Is this even possible? I'm a rookie in TestStand, so please give me some advice!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,965 Views)

Hi,

I've looked into that problem and there is Knowledge Base covering this topic.

Here is the link:

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/3237F79C267F92EF8625713B00818D6A

I hope this is what you needed. 

Does it help?

Peter

Piotr Kruczkowski
Certified TestStand Architect
Certified LabVIEW Architect
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,904 Views)

Hi,

Thanks for reply. I was trying to use that method but I failed. There is a method SetValVariant but I don't know how to use it (or how can I set my typedef cluster into newValue input).

At the beginning of my sequence I'm reading path to my typedef control from some config file. Then I want that control to became StationGlobal. I'm thinking about creating a VI that will parse that typedef to Variant and then send it to newValue input of SetValVariant method. Is it a good idea? Will it work? Correct me if I'm trying to do something impossible/stupid 🙂

The main idea is to create StationGlobals that may vary (depending on path of a typedef control) in each execution of sequence. If you have better ways to achieve that please let me know 🙂 I'm eager to learn about TestStand.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(3,899 Views)

Hi Pitol,