PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SPI Trouble with NI6570 and BME280

Hi NI Forum,

I've recently purchased the NI 6570 and have taken the digital pattern instrument class associated with it. I'm new to the world of digital logic and the class was a huge help. 

To further my progress I've purchased a sensor, the BME280, here's its datasheet: 

https://www.bosch-sensortec.com/media/boschsensortec/downloads/datasheets/bst-bme280-ds002.pdf

I've linked the datasheet for anyone's review but all I'm trying to do is read a static value from the DUT. The process should be to send 0xD0 and I should get back 0x60. 

I tried to bit-bang this using only 1s and 0s in the pattern (left image) as well as use the template to do a read command (right image), but neither yielded 0x60.

Digital Scope Bit Bang.pngDigital Scope Source and Capture.png

If I make the number of steps higher I can see that the clock has the potential for an issue:

First stage: 

Chris_NI_1-1647473209808.png

Zooming in to the falling edge of the clock, where there's a second rise that might be seen by the device. (the datasheet says the sensor can work work at 10MHz so I fear this really could be a potential issue):

Chris_NI_2-1647473265626.png

Another potentially linked problem is that I can't do TDR calibration. The 6750 is connected to an SHC68-68-EPM cable (2m lenghth) and from there a SCB-68A break out box which is for sure in direct feed mode. But when I try to short the respective pins to ground for TDR it complains that things aren't actually hooked up to ground. I'm sure physically things are okay, and even when I choose the open option it still complains!

 I've been working at this for days tweaking parameters and checking grounds, but I can't understand what's causing this to happen. I'm able to get this working with an Arduino, so I know the sensor is fine.

I really do appreciate anyone's time or advice. Best,

Chris 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8