Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feedback on Getting Started with CompactRIO - Remotely Monitoring I/O

This thread is dedicated to discussion and feedback around the tutorial Getting Started with CompactRIO - Remotely Monitoring I/O.

Please post any questions or comments here. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,097 Views)

Hi,

Nice tutorial. I'm a quite a newbie here (to NI ecosystem) so I might be asking some silly questions, please forgive me for that.

Questions.
I/O variables are Network published & synced to Scan Engine (in this example)

1. So are they published to network at the same rate? - I assume yes
    • how does the net frame look like for this net-publishing?
    • Can I actually assume that messaging pattern is publish-subscribe?
    • does it run on top of TCP or UDP then?
    • how do I configure the network to pass/stop LabView traffic if it is not isolated - what port ?
    • I assume Host Running LabView tries to automatically subscribe is that right?
    • I assume an Embedded Controller with proper NI software can also subscribe to I/O Variables - like another cRIO controller so that a distributed system can be built?
  2. Is there a way to not to net publish I/O variables every time scan engine sync?
    • I would prefer not to send many small packets
    • Im looking for an option to gather more I/O readings and send them in a bigger (preferably data-timestammped) packets so the host can just "realibly" chart them
    • Should I then rather disable the net publishing feature for I/O vars (how?) and simply create a custom patcher (publisher) running in lower prio loop on RT system, and a dispatcher (reader) on the host PC ?
  3. Are I/O Variables available (by default) only via Ethernet Network? or could I  connect "Controllers" ("more locally") via USB for I/O Variable sharing?
    • or is there a way to restrict LabView related "inter-communication" to exactly 1 eth?