cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Prologix LabVIEW write/read error

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am a student/research assistant working on a LabVIEW program that was passed on to me from another student. I am not sure what happened between taht time and now but I am having problems with a write/read step from a Prologix GPIB. I have attached the vi code as well as several screen shots. I have checked the read/write module without running the program and I get a green arrow but still get a error code. After running the program, I get an error that is visible in the block diagram. I am really not sure what to do about this. By the way, I am taking measurements from a Homodyne setup. I will appreciate any help or suggestions. Thank you for your time.  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(3,379 Views)

I wanted to add more attachments

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(3,378 Views)

Still more attachments

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(3,377 Views)

One more set of attachments after this

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 15
(3,372 Views)
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 15
(3,371 Views)

Hey AM33,

I can think of a few things we could check here. First, this error can be caused if you are trying to access the wrong VISA resource. Can you verify that the VISA resource name you have selected is correct? Since computers often have multiple COM ports, it's easy to pick the wrong one on accident.

Second, which version of the NI-VISA driver do you have installed on the machine? You can find that by going to the Measurement and Automation Explorer (Start > Programs > National Instruments > MAX) and find it under the Software tab. The latest version of VISA is 5.3, so if you don't have that version, I would recommend downloading it. You can find it here: http://joule.ni.com/nidu/cds/view/p/id/3823/lang/en