cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

adding vi's to an exciting labview driver

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello 

I am new to Labview 2019 and i have a question about adding vi's to an exciting driver. 

I have downloaded a driver from the manufacturers website for a power analyzer and i have used the driver and it works fine, but i mis some functionality in the driver and i want to add that functionality.

According to the documentation i have to go to "Tool -> instrumentation -> Create instrumentation driver project". Then i can select "new driver copy an exciting driver ". Then i should be able to select an exciting driver but in the list of drivers i don't see the driver from my power analyzer that i have installed. Why not ?

Or is there a better way to a vi's to an exciting driver ?

Thanks in advance for support

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(363 Views)

Hi Tonnie,

@Tonnie wrote:

I am new to Labview 2019 and i have a question about adding vi's to an exciting driver. 

I have downloaded a driver from the manufacturers website for a power analyzer and i have used the driver and it works fine, but i mis some functionality in the driver and i want to add that functionality.

Does that driver come as LabVIEW project with several/lots of VIs?

Then you can simply add your own VIs to this project.

Recommendation: use some SCC tool (SourceCodeControl) to keep track of your changes!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(349 Views)

Hello GerdW

No the driver does not have a Labview project file. I comes with only vi's, a tree vi and dir.mnu files

kind regards

Tonnie

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(335 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Tonnie

Hi Tonnie,

@Tonnie wrote:

No the driver does not have a Labview project file. I comes with only vi's, a tree vi and dir.mnu files

Then it is much easier: simply add your own VIs to the driver's folder.

Recommendations: