LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solenoid Control using LabView and Arduino

So I have what I belive to be a very simple question, but I'm pretty new to LabView and am not totally sure how to do it. I'm trying to use Arduino and LabView to control a solenoid, and so far its working pretty well, but the system keeps looping.

I'm using a boolian button to activate the solenoid, then I'm delaying for a given amount of time, then closing the solenoid. The issue is that the boolian button needs to be deactivated in order for the loop to stop, otherwise the solenoid will continue to open and close until I deactivate the button. Does anyone know of a triggering type of button, that only sends one signal per mouse click?

Thanks!

solenoid.png

Message 1 of 53
(17,660 Views)

Labview provides 6 different mechanical swttch options for a Boolean Button. 

Right click on the Boolean Button

Select Mechanical Action

Try each Mechanical Action until you find one that is suitable.

I can't tell you which one to use because Labview's cause and effect explanation is confusing.

hrh1818

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 53
(7,357 Views)

Most likely you'll want "Latch when pressed" or "Latch when released."  The latter is similar to most Windows® dialog buttons in that you can press and hold it and it will not do anything.  You would then still be able to decide whether or not you want to have the button react.  If you choose that you don't want it to react to the press, you can drag your mouse off the button while still pressing and it will not be activated.

Both of these options will only be read as true once by LabVIEW.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 53
(7,357 Views)

could you please post the vi file ?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 53
(7,357 Views)

Hey fawaz,