Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3 Questions on AF

Hi all.

A little background I have been doing LabVIEW since Nov 2017 so I am still fairly new.  Please forgive any lack of knowledge on the vernacular when talking about LV and AF.

Quickly upon starting LV I pushed into object oriented and found that the base object framework in LV was insufficient - particularly when working on setting up asynchronous objects.  That is when I found the AF.

I have a few questions that I am looking to figure out that have been in the back of my head either upon starting AF or more recently as the last month or so I have been more seriously diving into it.

1)  The first question is in regards to the asynchronous responses from sub actors to a top level actor.  From my understanding I need to create a method/message on the top level actor to handle a message response.  How then can I make my sub level actor invariant to a top level actor (and visa versa) when I must send that specific message back up.  I would read the calling actor enqueuer to respond but this still seems clunky to me in some way.  Perhaps someone with experience can better explain and break out this process - I would greatly appreciate it.