From 11:00 PM CDT Friday, May 10 – 02:30 PM CDT Saturday, May 11 (04:00 AM UTC – 07:30 PM UTC), ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AF Architecture Question

All,

I'm pretty new to the AF and want to make sure I'm using it correctly. I wanted to run an architecture past you guys that I'm thinking of implementing and get some feedback if you guys have time. The program I'm working on needs to have a sequence engine that will run some parts of the program. Essentially, the hierarchy is that there's a 'Protocol' that maintains an array of 'Groups'. The 'Groups' maintain an array of 'Steps' which has an array of 'Functions' which consist of multiple 'Actions'. Actions are basic building blocks like, "Wait 10 Seconds" or "Move the Carousel to X" or "Turn on DO3". Putting together multiple actions give you a function, like "Move the Carousel to X, Turn on DO3, Wait 10 Seconds, Turn off DO3" would be called a Dispense. A group of Functions make up a step, Such that "Dispense, React, Dispense, Clean, Drain" makes up a Step called "Reaction. Put together a bunch of Steps and you have a 'Group', etc... The protocol is the top level and is just a JSON document that defines the whole thing. Hopefully that makes sense.

My thought was to have all of the components be actors. So, a protocol would keep track of groups, each group would keep track of its steps, etc... That way the Sequence Engine just get's the current Group, asks for it's Current Step, blah blah all the way down to the Action. Than the sequence engine sends a message to that Action telling it to do it's thing and let me know when you're done. When it's done it asks the Function for it's next Action, and so on and so forth.