cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best pratices to create WebSocket client actor

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to the Actor Framework and I'm faced with a problem of choice.

I have a Root Actor that launches one or more nested actors (WS Client Actor).

A WS Client Actor must first initialize the WebSocket link to a defined device that behaves like a WebScoket server.

Simplified schema network.png

I want my WS Client Actor to read the messages sent spontaneously by the hardware equipment.

I want to be able to send messages to retrieve infor mation from my WS Server as follows :

SEQ_DIAG.png

• 1st problem: how do I pass the IP address and port as a parameter to my overrided Actor Core method that is currently initiating the link ?
  • 2nd problem: I don't know how to make my methods only capture messages that concern them
  • 3rd problem : My WS Client Actor is not stopped correctly. It closes normally but the project keeps a ProxyCaller running

Here's what I started doing (GetPN is just another method like GetPower) :

Actor Core overrided.png

Project.png

Thank you in advance for any ideas you can give me 🙂

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(1,219 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author syuiopwdfghj

For #1, you can initialize it in one of two ways:

1- Send an "init" message to tell the Actor what the IP address is

2- Set the IP address as a property of the Actor object prior to launch with an accessor

I'd recommend number 2. Don't forget that Actors are classes. Prior to launching them, you can set properties, run methods, etc as much as you want. Number 1 works, but then you need to maintain state in the actor of "Initialized" vs "not initialized". In my experience, it's simpler to kill and restart an Actor with new settings than to be able to transition a "living" Actor to a new set of initialization parameters.