cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synchrounous Reply Message Example

Solved!
Go to solution

@PrimaryKey wrote:

I would recommend you have a look into this small example I wrote that makes it easier to build actors using subscriber publisher approach. 

Publish-Subscribe (aka Register-Notify) is a valuable messaging pattern in itself, but is not the same as Request-Reply.  Both have uses.  

In particular, be wary of sending a command, then trying to treat the notification that the command should generate as a "reply" to that command.  That is a poor substitute for a true reply, as other actions could generate the same notification.

0 Kudos
Message 11 of 24
(2,450 Views)

I'd like to throw in a second example of when a Request-Reply pattern would be nice to have. (Please note I'm a total noob to AF, so correct me if I'm trying to make an anti-pattern...)

If I have an actor controlling a piece of hardware (call it DAQ) and a main actor (call it Main), I need to have Main send a message "Initialize" to DAQ. At this point, Initialize could succeed or fail, and the next action of Main will depend on whether or not the Initialize succeeded or not. In other words, DAQ needs to reply to the specific "Initialize" method while Main waits on it. It would be tricky to just have DAQ send a message to Main after Initialize was successful; I would have to add more states to Main (like "Waiting on Initialization") that adds complexity.

An alternative solution is for Main to send a reply-queue along with the Initialization message, but I keep reading that you should only communicate between actors with AF messages, not with secondary message channels.

Anyway, after the Initialize is successful, Main could launch the "Logger" actor that connects to "DAQ" via Publish-Subscribe, but it seems to me that Main really needs a synchronous response.

Anyway, just wanted to throw a second example out there of when it may be beneficial.

Message 12 of 24