cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

import existing actors in new project

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear actor friends,

I'm totally new in LV, not much experienced in OOD/P, some knowledge about the actor concept... 
Meanwhile I learned to use DETT and redesigned and tested some actors. 
My job is to bug-fix, refactor, modify and adapt an existing actor-framework-based LV application with about 30 actors (10 different types).  At the moment I stuck when a try to use/import some existing and tested actors.lvlibs in a new project.lvproj....

How do I properly import .lvlibs (actors) in the new project I like to let grow up? With "save as (copy option)" the path for the actor in the original project will be modified to the destination of new copy.

I've seen some similar topics in the forum but not found a closing answers

Thanks a lot for any hints.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,313 Views)

Is your question aiming at how to get libraried in a LabVIEW Project?

Are you using source code control like SVN or git?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,301 Views)

thanks for your fast reaction...

my question is maybe more general... how to reuse the already developed actors? I supposed they should be part of the project and not only a dependency (maybe I'm wrong?) and then I have to bring the .lvlibs into the project... and obvious there are discussion how to do that which shows that it's not obvious and I also have some problems but are not experienced in LabVIEW

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,295 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author LVrooky

lvlibs are a suitable base for code reuse (please keep in mind, that the actual lvlib file is just a description of the content of the library, the library itself consists of multiple files, maybe even in directory structures)