Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN reading and writing a frame with offset and scaling using NI-XNET database

I am new to LabView....

Has anyone managed to get the CAN network work with the NI-XNET database to have the offset and scaling done all through the database instead of having do do everything by hand? I can't find any examples or VIs, although I keep seeing that everyone has the same general issue. The only response is that the API can't do it....ok...has anyone successfully done this and can share the VI?

Is there a way to feed in decimal (double) real world values and have a VI take the values and do the conversions necessary to make the can message with the scaling and offset that you put in the database using the NI-XNET API and LabView? How does this work when your message has the following format:

Sensor Reading 1: 2 bytes [unsigned 8]

Sensor Reading 2: 2 bytes

Sensor Reading 3: 2 bytes

Failure code 1: 5 bits

Failure code 2: 5 bits

Failure code 3: 5 bits

I am trying to put this message together and emulate a CAN message that would come from this sensor (has 3 different readings), and have this be generic enough to be ported to other kinds of sensors later. I can't get the database, which is already set-up, to have the scaling and offset applied or even get the correct format. The output I am expecting is a Hexadecimal output corresponding to the decimal values that I give it as input....

ie:

The initial input for the CAN message would be something like...

22.3 degC 

25.9 degC 

25.9 degC 

2 (Failure Mode Indication)

so the data field message would read E824 5C25 5C25 FFFF 

So the data length is 2 bytes. 0.03125 degC / bit scaling and -273 degC offset...

I can't get this to work with the API, and am hoping someone can point me in the right direction....

Thank you for any help in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(8,518 Views)

Hi estradjm,