Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use of CAN and DAQmx modules on the same chassis

I've been using DAQmx devices for several years, but this is the first time I need to use CAN.

I have some questions:

• Is it possible to use one DAQmx NI-9132 module and one CAN NI-9862 module on the same cDAQ-9185 chassis?
  • Is it possible to use them from two different executables on the same PC (i.e. executable #1 uses NI-9132, executable #2 uses NI-9862)?
  • Is it possible to use NI-9862 without NI XNET drivers? I mean, sending and receiving data from a PLC (and not from an executable on PC)?

Thanks in advance

Vix
-------------------------------------------
In claris non fit interpretatio

Using LV from 7
Using LW/CVI from 6.0
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,425 Views)

Great questions.  The cDAQ-9185 is a dumb chassis.  The thing is great for when you want to expand the IO of a system.  Let say you write a Windows program running on a PC.  And you are out of USB ports but want to add IO.  You can use a USB hub, but you can use a router, and have it access devices on a network remotely.  In MAX and LabVIEW it will appear as if this hardware is locally connected to the PC.  This is also useful if you want to do DAQ stuff when the PC and the system are farther apart than a USB should be.  Also great for laptops that don't have much IO capabilities.