Biomedical User Group Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Datex monitor help

Hello,

I'm a physician without any computer training. I know what labview is but i have absolutley no idea how to work with it.

lately i have been trying to aquire data from our operating room datex AS3 monitor.

I have followed the instructions given by the department of anesthesia in the chinese university of hong kong and their monitor software:

http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/med/ans/softwares.htm

I bought a DB9 double sided female cable and a USB adapter and tried two options:

1) a USB adapter to a labtop (driver was installed correctly)

2) serial connection to a desktop computer

In both cases the software worked, the monitor worked, but there was no connection between the two.

my questions:

1) do i have to set some option on the monitor itself?

2) is there importance to the serial card inside the desktop computer? is there importance to the brand of the USB adapter? do I have the right cable?

3) is there some other simple way for me to extract the data?

4) Does anyone has a theory why things arent working?

I thank anyone in advance for help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,181 Views)

Since you are measuring on people in an operating room. I will strongly suggest you contact you technical department. And get your setup approved by them. Before you do any more. Your technical department will also for sure be able to help you with the setup.

The problem is that the monitor is approved as a medical device. But your PC/laptop is classified as consumer electronics. And by connecting the two devices you may end up with a system that do not comply to the medical safety regulations. If something go wrong you will be responsible for the damage. But if your technical department has approved your setup. It will be a problem for your hospital. And not you as a single person. Big difference as you may understand.