Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating DO continuous signal (using PFI channels?)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am new to using NI and its interfaces. I am using the USB-6221, with its C API.

I need to create several Continuous Digital Output channels with frequency and duty cycle.

I first used DAQmxCreateCOPulseChanFreq for crt0 and crt1 channels and it works fine, but I need a few more DO lines.

Can I use the PFI channels (PFI0-4 for example) for this purpose?

Using the DAQmxCreateDOChan I can define the desired PFI channels as DO, but how can I create the desired signal on these channels?

Best Regards,

Danny.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,834 Views)
Solution
Accepted by DannyN

Howdy Danny!

If you are trying to generate a digital pulse train with a specified frequency and duty cycle then using the USB-6221's onboard counters is definitely the way to go.  Unfortunately, as you have discovered there are only two hardware counters available on the USB-6221 (Ctr0 and Ctr1).

Fortunately, you can also use the digital output lines to effectively create a pulse train with a specified frequency and duty cycle.  You will need to create an array of samples that, when output at the specified sampling rate, will resemble a period of your waveform.  For example, if my sampling rate is 1MHz and I want to create a 100KHz square wave with a duty cycle of 20% high/80% low I would generate the following samples:

{1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0}

Please let me know if this description is clear or if there is anything I need to explain in more detail.

Regards,

Barron
Applications Engineering
National Instruments
Message 2 of 7
(3,810 Views)

Hi Barron,

Thank you very much for your help.

I will be able to check it in 2 days only, but meanwhile, let's see if I got it right: