cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

self calibration of NI PCI-6251 (M series) using the DDK

Solved!
Go to solution
Hi,

I am new in this froum, and I started with the DDK two weeks ago, and so far I got most of the things that I need to work with the NI PCI-6251 (M series) DAQ board plugged into an Intel Dual Atom board D945GCLF2 running (Pure)Darwin 9.6 (build 9G55 -- this is not Mac OS X).

BTW: NI-DAQmx for Mac OS X utilizes a hell a lot of Apple's closed source frameworks and therefore it does not work on a strictly Open Source Darwin installation. That's the reason why I have to live with the functionality provided by the DDK.

I read the articles on calibration and I searched the NI discussion forum, and my understanding so far is, that self-calibration is possible using the DDK, but it is not that easy as with MAX.

First question:

Is it really basically possible to get self-calibration of a PCI-6251 somehow to work using the DDK?

If YES

I read the article http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/3688  about the sophisticated polynomial calibration scheme for the M series boards named NI-MCal, and the second question is:

Is the NI-MCal routine implemented at the DAQ board and that does already most of the magic,
   or do I need to implement the whole NI-MCal sequence step-by-step by software by myself?

If YES (magic routine at the board)

How can I utilize it using the DDK?

If NO (no magic routine at the DAQ board)

From said article I understood that the NI-MCal sequence works follows:

1. Linearity Correction
    a) measure the INL of the ADC by sweeping the on-board
        PWM based DAC through the entire range

b) smoothing and curve fitting to a third order polynomial

c) interpolation

2. Offset and Gain Calibration (to be repeated for each ADC range)
    a) measure the offset based on the corrected INL against
        the on-board ground reference.

b) for the 10 V range use the on-board voltage reference as is,