FIRST Robotics Competition Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Progamming for Dummies

I really know nothing and I need to learn. The FRC manual does not help me because I don't understand the terms used. I don't know what variables are, I don't really understand any of the loops, and that's just a few of my problems. I want to learn how to program, not just copy and paste programs and hope it works. So i want to know if there is a manual in "english" and where i can get it.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,707 Views)

I'm not positive as to whether or not there is a better guide to programming, I have a decent background in computer science and i've been programming for almost 4 years now so alot of the terminology is easy for me. I'm still new to LabView though! I find it easier to take baby steps into the programming world untill your comfortable with the logic that ensues programming itself. for example loops are something that are in every language that has any use. The old saying you have to crawl before you walk comes to mind, you cant program an entire robot with complicated features before you know simple basics. I suggest learning another language like java or C++ before trying anything more then copying code unless you want to try simple experiments. this is unfortunately a time consuming task, i've been using java for 2 years and im still learning new features. Think of this year as an experiment and just get a moving robot, then practice practice practice for next year.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,868 Views)

There's a wealth of training material, probably so much that you won't have time for it all. Learning to program is not a simple task, like Andrew said.

For basic LabVIEW programming, NI has a list of their training resources: http://www.ni.com/academic/labview_training/ I like the LabVIEW in 6 hours self paced course.