From 11:00 PM CDT Friday, May 10 – 02:30 PM CDT Saturday, May 11 (04:00 AM UTC – 07:30 PM UTC), ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

FIRST Tech Challenge Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview: Multiple Controllers Specified Error

Solved!
Go to solution

Complete newbie to labview programming environment.  The robot functions nicely when using the game controller.  We've trying to code the autonomous mode of the challenge.  We've got the robot driving around controlling the 2 wheel motors.  All is good.  However, now we want to be able to control a 3rd motor in autonomous mode.  When we add the 3rd motor we are getting the error "Motors:  Multiple Controllers Specified".  How can we control motors from more than 1 controller in the autonomous mode?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

program.JPGerror.JPG

schmatic.JPG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,586 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jwalberg67

Your Schematic Editor is fine.

This is what we have found works. In your autonomy vi: add an additional instance of the DC Motor block for your third motor. You can wire the same power to it, but each DC Motor instance can only handles 2 motors, and they need to be the ones on the same Motor Controller. (So your Motor 1 & 2 can be on one DC Motor block, and Motor 3 & 4 on another. The same error will occur if you try to put Motor 1 & 3 on the same DC Motor block. Try it.)

I've attached 4 screen shots that tell the story - number 4 shows hypothetical code (Time blocks are place holders) - There may be other ways to do this.

Also, try keeping ctl-H on when you explore your code, 'it really HELPS'   I always have the kids make lots of experimental 'generated code', and self-teach with ctl-H as they explore the RC case structures. It really improves their autonomy skills in fun dynamic way.