Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stepper motor control +parallel port

I am very new to the stepper motor..i need some help regarding this lab view...so can i know how to start..

0 Kudos
Message 21 of 45
(2,355 Views)

Attached is a Vi i used to control a small stepping motor directly through 25 - way Parallel port. Basically I turn all the 8 datapins High and Low to produce a Step like action from all the pins directly. Since I only used 1 of the 8 pins, I didn't care which one of the 8 pins I used so I just turn them all High and Low, which then translates as as single Step. By controlling the time delay, you can controll the speed of these steps. If you need to use one of the pins for direction, just isolate that pin and make that into a control so that user can specify if that pin is High or Low.

Bare in mind that physical pin 2 - pin 10 are datapins on the parallel port, which this corresponds to the 8 bollean lines in the attached example.

Kas

0 Kudos
Message 22 of 45
(2,350 Views)

Hi. I would like to control stepper motor using lab view.  I am using 7764 UMI motion driver and pci 7342 motion controller, I desgind a labview programm for stepper motor. I attached with this file.Its runnig when I am executing it. But I would like to know how to connect stepper motor with this labivew.

0 Kudos
Message 23 of 45
(2,300 Views)

Hi Koma1,

I am not sure what do you mean by "But I would like to know how to connect stepper motor with this LabVIEW ."  The motion card (PCI7342) will be connecting your PC. To your UMI Drive. The motor will be connected to the Drive. LabVIEW will communicate to the motion card. Can you please be more specific on where do you need help. See this Document for more help.

Thanks and have a great day.

Message 24 of 45
(2,273 Views)