LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Digital Storage Ocilloscope with Arduino/LabVIEW

Hi everyone,

I am kinda new to both LabVIEW and the Arduino, I've been trying the examples available and I think I'm understanding somewhat how they work.

My project uses the Arduino Uno board along with the SD shield, I sample an input signal from an oscilloscope and I save the sampled 10-bit integer values on a text file on my SD card. I would like to use LabVIEW to display the output, hoping that I will be avoiding some trouble since that way I don't have to use an DAC to ouput the waveform on an oscilloscope.

• I've been reading that LabVIEW can export measurements to an EXCEL file (could .txt work?), but could it be possible that a VI reads the values from the card and ouputs them by using a Waveform chart?

Any help that points me in the right direction will be appreciated. Thanks!

Pavel

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(5,408 Views)

Pavel,

You can certainly use LabVIEW to display your data on a waveform graph, save it to excel, a text file, TDMS file, binary file, or almost any other file format you can think of.  I assume you are not using a file system on the SD card (eg FAT16, FAT32, ...) but are instead just writing blocks or bytes at a time. 

If this is the case you can modify the LIFA firmware to add a command that requests a byte or block from the SD card by address.  The way I see it working is:

Create a Read SD Card vi that send a request to the arduino containing the mode: block or byte, and the address.

The arduino receives the command, reads from the SD card and returns the data.

LabVIEW will receive a string and can be converted to a byte array and then reassembled into useful data (eg bitshifting to get 10-bit numbers again).

From here you could write the array to any sort of file you like or display it on a waveform graph.

Let us know if you have any quesions about how this might work.