LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LIFA, LINX or What? IMO

I would like to give my opinion on which toolkit one should use if you are new to Labview like I was and you are using an arduino. I bought the sparkfun kit and was off and running.  I am a ME trying to tinker in an EE world.  I was fimiliar with arduino but wanted to go to the next level.  So a few months ago I ventured into the Labview realm and I came to a fork in the road.  There was LIFA, LINX and my ARDUINO. I started in LIFA but read the warning it was discontinued. I started switching my projects over to LINX. To help other newbies, I hope to clarify the question as to which to use. Again, this is my opinion and by no means am I downplaying the hard work put in by many. Also, if I use the wrong terminology don't trash me, I am a newbie trying to help people.

The easiest: LIFA.  Even though it is not support, the community is active. LIFA was developed for the arduino and has a long legacy so it has lots of resources, even outside the community.  I found step by steps, videos, people showing stuff off where I picked up on something. It gets easier to use while helping you learn.

Strong second: LINX. This is a great toolkit and developed by the people/person who developed LIFA.  LINX is trying to reach a broader audience and its more "modular" than LIFA. It is trying to include other interfaces but from what I have read and seen, Arduino users far outnumber RIO or others. LINX forums are ok. There will be long nights trying to get things working. There were sereval nights I threw my hands up and walked away. Once you understand things better,  I does get easier.  Bottom line, if nobody in the forum helps, you need to figure it out.