LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nintendo Wii sensors + Arduino + LIFA

Hello!

I am an engineering student in Brazil and new to LabVIEW and also on the Arduino. I am developing a project, a Quadcopter using the sensors of the controls of the Nintendo Wii (Nunchuk and Wii Motion Plus).

I'd like to read the values ​​of Yaw, Pitch and Roll sensors such an interface in LabVIEW, from the Arduino using the LIFA.

Anyone had any experience with these sensors that can help me? Because I really want to learn this issue, to overcome this challenge. I have LabVIEW 2011 installed, as well as VISA and LIFA.

Already grateful for the attention of everyone!

Henrique

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,650 Views)

Henrique,

It's a little hard to understand what your system would look like. Would you post a system diagram?

Though you could replace the wiimote on the quadropter with some kind of LIFA w/ wireless solution, you might also be able to speak directly to the wii mote with LV. Check out LabviewHacker.com for more.

It sounds cool. Good luck!

Ben J.
National Instruments
Applications Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,335 Views)

Hello BenJ! First, thanks for answering.

So, what I would do this first part of my project, would be to read the sensor data, Nunchuk and Wii Motion Plus.

I read several documents on how to read the data in passthrough mode. As in this link:

http://voidbot.net/nunchchuk-and-wii-motion-plus-6-DOF.html

But not quite understand how to initialize the sensors and get data via I2C. Would you know how? I think it's not complicated, using the block ready for I2C communication, the present LIFA ("read" and "write"). You are missing a "gentle nudge" for me to understand how. Since I started using LabVIEW few days ago, so I have some doubts on the same schedule.

If you can help me BenJ, I would be very grateful! Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(3,335 Views)