LabVIEW Web Development Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I deploy the HTML file generated using LV NXG web vi into cRIO and host it in cRIO?

Experts,

I request some help or suggestions or guidance from the experts in this community.

Background:

I am a CLA, but I am new to LV Web services and LV NXG. I have developed an application for LV cRIO Embedded System that runs well. Typically we use LV software in Windows for User Interface. But for a specific customer, they want to use a Web browser based User Interface (HMI), so they don't have to install LV runtime engine and any other supporting software in PC.

What works - Prototype

What we have done is, added a Web service in cRIO and designed a HTML & a JavaScript (by looking at some examples in NI.com) that is hosted in cRIO, so the customer can use web browser to see the user interface, with no need to pre-install anything except the default web browser installed in that computer. This is done just to prove the idea, but it needs substantial effort to code in HTML & JS for the full user interface, especially for someone new like me.

So far this has been exciting new challenge to work with, but I seem to enjoy more LabVIEW based development than HTML or JS development.

What would be nice?

1. From what I read about NXG, We can design a NXG Web VI that interacts with cRIO webservice to display data or control the application. Then I can save that NXG Web VI into a HTML file. When I open the HTML file in a web browser, I can see the user interface, with no need to install any runtime engine. I haven't done this yet, but from what I read it seems to be true. Can someone please confirm this?