LabVIEW Web Development Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Distant Monitor of my VI

Hello readers,

I've been trying to figure out how all these stuff here works as I'm a total newbie and I've been asked by my university teacher to set a distant monitor web page for our solar PV.

At the lab, I've made a small VI that collects voltage values from a sensor, then calculates the current and power, presents everything in waveform charts and saves the data in a text after the STOP button. I need to "move" all that in a localhost and I'm struggling to find the way G web can collect all that data from Labview. What is the simplest way to do it? 

Thanks alot in advance for any help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,809 Views)

I need some clarification of what you're trying to accomplish. Remote monitoring makes sense; that would just be viewing data that's being collected and calculated by your VI.

But the idea of "moving" all of your VI functionality to the web doesn't make sense. A WebVI can't directly acquire values from measurement hardware. Do you mean the data acquisition and file I/O will still be done by the VI, but the web interface will display data, and command the VI to generate text files?

If so, the easiest way to transfer your acquired data to your WebVI would be using SystemLink Cloud tags or messages. (This presentation might be helpful, although the PDF version of the slides "lost" the videos and there isn't a recording of the session available yet: https://forums.ni.com/t5/Example-Code/How-to-Build-a-Web-UI-for-Your-LabVIEW-Based-Test-System/ta-p/...)

But there are numerous other data services that you could use. How are you planning to host your WebVI?