LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Averaging Measured I(t) Signal

Hi,

I'm trying to average my I(t) data so that I can save an averaged I(t) plot along with a PSD plot.

The issue I have is that: say my PSD is formed from 25 I(t) averages, then I get 1:25 I(t):PSD plots, which is inconvenient when I process the data + I get large data files.

Is there a way to average all the I(t) data in line with the PSD.

Attached is my VI.

I'm fine with Express VIs but a complete novice otherwise with little experience in these things, so some assistance would great!

Thanks for reading my question,

AT12.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,599 Views)

If you have a chance to save it in a compatible format to earlier version, I believe more users can open your file. I tried to open it with 2010, couldnt make it. 

Message 2 of 7
(2,588 Views)

I've selected 2009 in Save as previous version: hopefully you'll be able to open this.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,582 Views)

Since you have made no attempt to average anything in the VI you posted, it is not clear exactly what you are trying to do.

If you want your PSD to be formed from the average 25 readings from the DAQ Assistant, then you need to do your averaging before feeding the data to Spectral Measurements.

How does the program know when 25 readings are available?

Are the successive data sets synchronized in some way? If not, everaging may tend to destroy the very signal you are trying to measure.

Lynn

Message 4 of 7
(2,560 Views)

"If you want your PSD to be formed from the average 25 readings from the DAQ Assistant, then you need to do your averaging before feeding the data to Spectral Measurements." - Spectral Measurements is averaging 25 psd plots from 25 I(t) plots, right? What I want is to have the I(t) data that feeds this PSD output to be saved as an average value along with the PSD, i.e. to save an I(t) plot made up from 25 averages.